Zum Inhalt springen
Fahrräder Kondor Brompton Hilfe Komponenten Fahrradteile Kontaktstellen Räder, Felgen und Naben Reifen und Schläuche Brompton-Komponenten Shop Top Brands Zubehör Radfahren Essentials Beleuchtung Gepäck- und Fahrradverpackungstaschen Lebensstil Fahrradwartung Technik und Elektronik Ernährung Kleidung Männerkleidung Frauenkleidung Kleidung Shop Top Clothing Brands Auf Lager Werkstatt & Reparaturen Unsere Dienstleistungen Besuchen Sie uns
Next day options are available if you order in the next

Higher Calling

Schließlich ist das Radfahren auf einen Berg schwer – so schwer, dass es für... READ MORE
Schließlich ist das Radfahren auf einen Berg schwer – so... READ MORE
€14,00
In Stock Ready for dispatch. Ready for dispatch. This item is available for collection only. Order now and pickup in store. This item is available to pre-order and will be shipped as soon as it arrives.
Out Of Stock Sorry, currently out of stock.
Next day options are available if you order in the next
Product Description

Schließlich ist das Radfahren auf einen Berg schwer – so schwer, dass es für viele Nicht-Radfahrer absurd erscheinen kann. Aber für manche stellt das elegante Erklimmen eines Berges (und das Überholen der Konkurrenten am Hang) den Höhepunkt der Radsportleistung dar. In den Bergen werden Legenden geschmiedet und die Großen des Radsports machen sich einen Namen.

Warum sind Europas Gebirgszüge das Wembley-Stadion oder das Kolosseum des professionellen Radsports? Warum pilgern auch Amateure zu diesen abgelegenen Höhenstraßen und was sehen und fühlen wir dabei? Warum gibt es dort überhaupt Straßen?

Higher Calling erkundet den zentralen Platz der Berge in der Folklore des Straßenradfahrens. Max Leonard verbindet Abenteuer- und Reiseberichte mit der reichhaltigen Erzählung des Profirennsports und führt den Leser von den Schlachten, die die Alpenstraßen schufen, über die Hirten, die ihre Herden auf den Gipfeln hüteten, bis hin zum Höhepunkt der Grand Tour auf der „höchsten Straße Europas“. . Und er erzählt Geschichten über Mut und Opferbereitschaft, Krieg und Liebe, Besessenheit und Elefanten auf dem Weg.

  • Anzahl der Seiten: 336
  • Seitengröße: 127 x 197 mm
  • ISBN 10: 022410036X
  • ISBN 13: 9780224100366
  • Herausgeber: Yellow Jersey Press
  • Veröffentlichungsdatum: Mai 2018
  • Auflage: PB
  • Illustrationen: Schwarzweißfotos
  • Gewicht: 240g
Product Description

Schließlich ist das Radfahren auf einen Berg schwer – so schwer, dass es für viele Nicht-Radfahrer absurd erscheinen kann. Aber für manche stellt das elegante Erklimmen eines Berges (und das Überholen der Konkurrenten am Hang) den Höhepunkt der Radsportleistung dar. In den Bergen werden Legenden geschmiedet und die Großen des Radsports machen sich einen Namen.

Warum sind Europas Gebirgszüge das Wembley-Stadion oder das Kolosseum des professionellen Radsports? Warum pilgern auch Amateure zu diesen abgelegenen Höhenstraßen und was sehen und fühlen wir dabei? Warum gibt es dort überhaupt Straßen?

Higher Calling erkundet den zentralen Platz der Berge in der Folklore des Straßenradfahrens. Max Leonard verbindet Abenteuer- und Reiseberichte mit der reichhaltigen Erzählung des Profirennsports und führt den Leser von den Schlachten, die die Alpenstraßen schufen, über die Hirten, die ihre Herden auf den Gipfeln hüteten, bis hin zum Höhepunkt der Grand Tour auf der „höchsten Straße Europas“. . Und er erzählt Geschichten über Mut und Opferbereitschaft, Krieg und Liebe, Besessenheit und Elefanten auf dem Weg.

Spezifikation
  • Anzahl der Seiten: 336
  • Seitengröße: 127 x 197 mm
  • ISBN 10: 022410036X
  • ISBN 13: 9780224100366
  • Herausgeber: Yellow Jersey Press
  • Veröffentlichungsdatum: Mai 2018
  • Auflage: PB
  • Illustrationen: Schwarzweißfotos
  • Gewicht: 240g

Reviews of this product

Skip to content
Bikes Condor Brompton Components Bike Parts Contact Points Wheels, Rims & Hubs Tyres and Tubes Brompton Components Accessories Cycling Essentials Lights Luggage & Bike-Packing Bags Nutrition Lifestyle Bike Maintenance Tech & Electronics Clothing Men's Clothing Women's Clothing Clothing Accessories In Store Our Services Visit Us Journal Inspiration
Change Country
Next Day Delivery available if you order in the next

Higher Calling

After all, cycling up a mountain is hard - so hard that, to many non-cyclists... READ MORE
After all, cycling up a mountain is hard - so hard that, ... READ MORE
£9.99
In Stock This item is in stock and ready for dispatch or store collection. This item is in stock and ready for dispatch or store collection. This product can only be delivered to certain countries. This item is available for collection only. Order now and pickup in store. This item is a pre-order and will be shipped when available.
Out Of Stock Sorry, currently out of stock.
Next Day Delivery available if you order in the next
Product Description

After all, cycling up a mountain is hard - so hard that, to many non-cyclists, it can seem absurd. But, for some, climbing a mountain gracefully (and beating your competitors up the slope) represents the pinnacle of cycling achievement. The mountains are where legends are forged and cycling?s greats make their names.

Why are Europe?s mountain ranges professional cycling?s Wembley Stadium or its Colosseum? Why do amateurs also make a pilgrimage to these high, remote roads and what do we see and feel when we do? Why are the roads there in the first place?

Higher Calling explores the central place of mountains in the folklore of road cycling. Blending adventure and travel writing with the rich narrative of pro racing, Max Leonard takes the reader from the battles that created the Alpine roads to the shepherds tending their flocks on the peaks, and to a Grand Tour climax on the ?highest road in Europe?. And he tells stories of courage and sacrifice, war and love, obsession and elephants along the way.

  • No of Pages: 336
  • Page Size: 127 x 197 mm
  • ISBN 10: 022410036X
  • ISBN 13: 9780224100366
  • Publisher: Yellow Jersey Press
  • Published Date: May 2018
  • Edition: PB
  • Illustrations: B&W photos
  • Weight: 240g
Product Description

After all, cycling up a mountain is hard - so hard that, to many non-cyclists, it can seem absurd. But, for some, climbing a mountain gracefully (and beating your competitors up the slope) represents the pinnacle of cycling achievement. The mountains are where legends are forged and cycling?s greats make their names.

Why are Europe?s mountain ranges professional cycling?s Wembley Stadium or its Colosseum? Why do amateurs also make a pilgrimage to these high, remote roads and what do we see and feel when we do? Why are the roads there in the first place?

Higher Calling explores the central place of mountains in the folklore of road cycling. Blending adventure and travel writing with the rich narrative of pro racing, Max Leonard takes the reader from the battles that created the Alpine roads to the shepherds tending their flocks on the peaks, and to a Grand Tour climax on the ?highest road in Europe?. And he tells stories of courage and sacrifice, war and love, obsession and elephants along the way.

Specification
  • No of Pages: 336
  • Page Size: 127 x 197 mm
  • ISBN 10: 022410036X
  • ISBN 13: 9780224100366
  • Publisher: Yellow Jersey Press
  • Published Date: May 2018
  • Edition: PB
  • Illustrations: B&W photos
  • Weight: 240g

Reviews of this product